DH finally had a couple of days off this past weekend.  He worked 19 days straight!  What a guy, huh?  So we went to the mall and shopped.  First we ate at TGIFriday’s.  Did you know that they have a $5 menu?  Sandwiches (with fries) and salads!  Of course we all ate from that menu and spent a lot less then if we ate at any other restaurant. 

102_0237 102_0239

102_0240 102_0242

102_0238

We had a great time.

We also got to spend some time with Shana and the boys.
102_0232
It’s blurry, I know, but this is the only one I could get before they took off to play…

And… We GOT OUR DRYER FIXED.  You don’t know how happy that makes me.  For the past week and a half we were without a dryer and while the laundry piled up we were bracing ourselves for the cost of a new dryer.  We initially had a Sears repair guy come out ($80 charge for him to just show up) and he quoted $239 for the repair.  (The heating element needed replacement).  He suggested we buy a new one from Sears and the $80 would go towards the purchase.  Do you know how much a new dryer costs from Sears????  At LEAST $300!!! I know right!

So I stalked Craigl*st and contacted a few people with some good deals.  Of course, I am leary about spending our hard-earned $ on something that wasn’t guaranteed to work so we took a drive to a local shop that sells washers and dryers refurbished.  We didn’t know where the place was exactly so we stopped at the first place we saw (which wasn’t it). BUT the guy who owned the place was there, Jerry (he wasn’t supposed to be open that day), and he told us to bring our dryer in and he’ll look at it at no cost.  So in the end, Jerry fixed our dryer for $85.  He replaced the part with a new one and guaranteed his work for 30 days.  He was so nice.  Need a washer and/or dryer, see Jerry.  I have his contact info with me, so let me know if you need it….

Thank you God.

I spent a lot of the weekend doing laundry.  I managed to finish 6 loads.  Only four left.  Whew.  I’m pooped.

DH and I were invited to a birthday party Saturday night (Kris’ hubby was celebrating 40). We couldn’t go.  No sitter for the little ones.  😦   I heard that the party was a success though… 

Yesterday I went to the knitting meeting at Starbucks.  Lai accompanied me.  She was such a good girl. 

102_0253
She’s wearing the shrug I knitted her last year.  I have the pattern written somewhere.  When I find it I’ll post it here.  She was quite stylish and very adorable in it. If I do say so myself. 🙂

How was your weekend?

Happy Monday!

-L

