I didn’t blog yesterday because I was busy blog-surfing.  There are so many wonderful bloggers out there, from crafters, photographers, interior designers, architects, you name your poison, there are at least a dozen out there to amaze you.  I get so much inspiration from these creative bloggers.  If only I can quit my day job and craft and blog all day long.  sigh.  If only.

Anyhooo, I’ve been in a knitting funk lately.  There’s nothing much inspiring me to cast on these days.  On Valentine’s Day I bought myself a sketch book and a 24-pack of colored pencils to try my hand at drawing again.  Back in high school, I loved to draw.  LOVED it.  I drew portraits mostly.  I drew a lovely (if I do say so myself) portrait of my best friend Marsh and gifted it to her.  To my dismay, she gifted it to her then-boyfriend, Jody.  Needless to say, that boyfriend is no longer around.  I don’t know whatever happened to that portrait.  It’s probably in trash heaven (or hell).  If you are out ther Jody and happen to have that portrait.  Can I have it back? Please? … There are also drawings I did in the journal I kept in high school.  I still have that hidden away somewhere.  I’ll have to take a picture of it to show you. 

For the last week, I’ve been working on some sketches with my new color pencils and find that I am quite rusty.  I’m finding it hard to find inspiration.  I think with practice, I’ll be able to one day frame my pieces and put them on display in my home.  But for now, I’m just “practicing”. 

I’ve noticed too that Bubba and Ty have a knack for drawing and arts as well.  I’d like to hone their skills by spending time with them drawing.  That’s what will be happening at my house this weekend.  Arts and Crafts with MOM.  I’m so looking forward to that.

I finished TWO pairs of fingerless gloves in some yummy 100% merino wool I had in the stash.  I only had one skein and surprised-the-heck-outta-me, it was enough for both.  After bind-off, there is only 3 yards left.  Yay!  The second pair will be my mom’s….

101_9686

I jimmy’d a pattern.  On 48 sts.

Ain’t it purty?  It’s so comfy, too!  We have a few short weeks ’til spring, so I’ll be wearing the crap out of them til then.  Tomorrow’s supposed to snow.

Well, family and friends.  Have a great weekend.  Keep in touch.

-L

