Today is my birthday.  It’s sort of a milestone for me.  35.  Not quite old, not quite young.  Just right.  I find myself in a good place, contemplating my life and where I’ve been, mentally and physically.  It’s been a rollercoaster ride.  I can’t believe how quickly my life has gone by although I admit I have been truly blessed in so many ways.  I have a terrific husband who loves me very much and we have 4 children who make me laugh, cry, hope and despair on a daily basis.  I really had a wonderful childhood with parents who always tried to do the best for my brothers, sister and me and for that I am grateful.

This last year has been amazing spending it with my wonderful husband, Danny.  It’s a blessing to be with someone who cares about me so much, and although the daily grind of life can sometimes get in the way, we both know that we have something special together.  Watching our kids grow up is amazing.  Once in a while, I witness a little bit of the adult they will or might become.  Every fleeting glimpse brings a little lump in my throat and a little tear to my eyes.

So, here’s to 35!  I am older-some parts of the body don’t function as well as they used to, particularly the eyes and the ears.  But I am very grateful for all the blessings I have received so far and look forward to what the next ten years may hold.    

  
On my 1st birthday many moons ago….

-L

