The basketweave pattern was the first pattern I tried when I learned how to  do the purl stitch.  In fact, I still have that scarf hidden in my closet because 1. It is too ugly to give/show anyone. 2. I think as a knitter one should keep their first project to remind oneself of whence they came….  The scarf I made 4+ years ago is an orangey red in some scratchy acrylic I found at a yard sale.  I have never worn the thing because it is so darn scartchy and butt-ugly.  I  look at the thing with awe as I have come so far since then. 

I wanted to knit my friend Chris a red scarf for Christmas and I needed a pattern that was reversible and lays flat.  So, I went to my roots (so-t0-speak) and brought back my old friend “basketweave”. 

I enjoyed knitting this.  So I wrote up the pattern to post for you today.
Enjoy!

Chris’ Basketweave Infinity Scarf

the-scarf-010

Materials:
Yarn: Any worsted or aran weight yarn
Needles:  US 10 straights or circs.
Gauge: doesn’t really matter.

Pattern:

CO 33 sts.
Knit 4 rows in garter stitch.

Begin basketweave pattern:

Row 1: K4, * K5, P5* to last 4 sts, K4
Row 2: K4, *P5, K5* to last 4 sts, K4

Rep rows 1 & 2 six more times (you should have 7 “ridges” on the purl side)

Row 3: K4, *P5, K5* to last 4 sts, K4
Row 4: K4, *K5, P5* to last 4 sts, K4

Repeat Rows 3 & 4 six more times (7 “ridges” on the purl side)

Repeat basketweave pattern  until scarf measures 60 inches (more if you’d like a longer drape).

Knit 4 rows in garter and BO.

Sew ends together making sure there is a twist in the scarf.
the-scarf-0041

the-scarf-005

Of course you can just bind off and attach fringe or whatever you like.  Personally, I made this a moebius style scarf because I do not like the way traditional scarfs just dangle and hang there flapping in the wind.  They get caught in things, and is an accident waiting to happen (it is wrapped around your neck after all).  You could potentially hang yourself with those dangly things. 

With the moebius style you can loop it around your neck once, twice or even three times if it is long enough.  It is so snuggly looped around your neck. 

Exhibit A:
the-scarf-012

B

the-scarf-018

 

This is Chris modeling her scarf.  She’s shy 😉

It looks great on her.  Just a little red to brighten her days.

the-scarf-020

-L

